Mysidia Adoptables Support Forum

Mysidia Adoptables Support Forum (http://www.mysidiaadoptables.com/forum/index.php)
-   Questions and Supports (http://www.mysidiaadoptables.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=18)
-   -   Random Adoptables (http://www.mysidiaadoptables.com/forum/showthread.php?t=1385)

fadillzzz 04-05-2010 06:44 AM

Random Adoptables
 
Sorry if this has been asked before
but, I'd like to know how to make the adoption page looks like virtuadopt.com where the users don't know what they are adopting untill the eggs are hatched

My adopt.php page fetch a random adoptables from database and everything seems to be working fine since I remove any info about the adoptables from the adopt.php page

but recently one of the users knows how to work around this random adoption thing

he type in URL to directly access the adoption page for an adoptable like
http://www.domain.com/adopt.php?id=X
and then adopt the adoptable he wants!

So does anyone know how to make the adoption page like virtuadopt?

BMR777 04-05-2010 11:41 AM

RE: Random Adoptables
 
With some modification you could change your adopt.php page to use POST instead of GET, so that users would have to click a form button to adopt the pet and then the adoptable ID would not be passed via the browser's address bar.

How much PHP do you know?

Arianna 04-05-2010 12:41 PM

RE: Random Adoptables
 
Wouldn't they still be able to use firebug or something to change it?
Perhaps getting a random number and selecting that from the db? You'd have to make it exclude certain retired / deleted pets, but it could work.

fadillzzz 04-05-2010 02:38 PM

RE: Random Adoptables
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BMR777
With some modification you could change your adopt.php page to use POST instead of GET, so that users would have to click a form button to adopt the pet and then the adoptable ID would not be passed via the browser's address bar.

How much PHP do you know?

I'm still new to PHP, so I don't know much about it
Quote:

Originally Posted by Arianna
Wouldn't they still be able to use firebug or something to change it?
Perhaps getting a random number and selecting that from the db? You'd have to make it exclude certain retired / deleted pets, but it could work.

Yeah, and I think you could do the same with Tamper Data too!
the method you suggested seems to be really good, but it also seems kinda complicated

EDIT
: tried to do what brandon said, but no luck. When the users clicked the button, it only refresh the page

fadillzzz 04-07-2010 09:44 AM

RE: Random Adoptables
 
BUMP!

does anyone can help me..?

Arianna 04-07-2010 09:53 AM

RE: Random Adoptables
 
My method isn't complicated, it'd just require work. I'm sure you'll figure it out in no time. Simple select from the database with ORDER BY RAND() and then get the first adoptable kind and give them that adoptable. Easy enough. :D

fadillzzz 04-07-2010 10:08 AM

RE: Random Adoptables
 
you mean like this?

PHP Code:

SELECT FROM ".$prefix."adoptables WHERE whenisavail='always' ORDER BY RAND() LIMIT 1 


Arianna 04-07-2010 11:39 AM

RE: Random Adoptables
 
Yup. :)

fadillzzz 04-07-2010 12:16 PM

RE: Random Adoptables
 
Well unfortunately that still doesn't fix my problem which is how to make sure that the user can't cheat his way to adopt any adoptables he wants...

Arianna 04-08-2010 01:55 AM

RE: Random Adoptables
 
That would solve your problem, I don't see why it wouldn't. You either do it that way - generate the adoptable upon adopting, this eliminating the need to have ids in the url - or you let him cheat his way there. Your choice.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:10 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.